Nonprofit Fundraising Software: What 16 Tools Actually Cost in 2026
Buyer's Guide

Nonprofit Fundraising Software: What 16 Tools Actually Cost in 2026

Jul 31, 202618 min read

Last updated 18 September 2026. Sixteen nonprofit fundraising tools, priced from the vendors' own pages.

On this page

  1. How we checked, and what this covers
  2. All sixteen tools and what they cost
  3. Who publishes pricing, and who makes you ask
  4. Donor management software and CRMs
  5. Donor intelligence layers
  6. Prospect research and wealth screening
  7. What DonorSearch actually costs
  8. Donation platforms
  9. Grant tools
  10. Three numbers the internet gets wrong
  11. The donor data question, whichever you buy
  12. Where this software does not help yet
  13. How to choose without buying five things
  14. Where Gratefully fits
  15. Frequently asked questions

How we checked, and what this covers

Every price on this page was read on the vendor's own pricing page on 18 September 2026, and every one of those pages is linked in the source register at the end. The one exception is Neon One, whose pricing page was offline for maintenance that day, so its figures are from our 24 August 2026 check. Nothing here comes from a review aggregator, a comparison site, or another roundup. Where a vendor does not publish a price, we say so rather than repeating a number someone else guessed.

That distinction turns out to matter more than expected, and it is what the section on who publishes pricing is about.

What counts as fundraising software here. Four jobs, and most organizations buy from more than one:

  • The system of record. Where donors, gifts and contact history live. Usually called a donor management system, a nonprofit CRM, or a donor database. Same thing, three names.
  • The intelligence layer. Software that reads the data you already hold and tells you who to act on. Sits on top of the system of record rather than replacing it.
  • Prospect research and wealth screening. External data about capacity and affinity, for people who are not yet your donors.
  • The transaction and grant tools. Donation checkout, and grant discovery and writing.

All sixteen tools and what they cost

Prices read on each vendor's own pricing page, 18 September 2026.

ToolJobEntry pricePublishes pricing
Little Green LightDonor database$45/mo up to 2,500 constituentsYes, full public table
Neon CRMDonor managementFrom $99/moYes
DonorPerfectDonor managementNot publishedNo, quote only
BloomerangDonor management plus intelligenceCRM from $125/mo annuallyYes, starting prices
KeelaDonor managementFrom $164/mo annually, to 1,000 contactsYes, tiered by contacts
Salesforce Nonprofit CloudEnterprise CRM$60 per user per month annuallyYes, plus 10 free licenses
VirtuousCRM plus AINot publishedNo, quote only
Blackbaud Raiser's Edge NXTEnterprise CRMNot publishedNo, quote only
GratefullyDonor intelligenceFree plan at $0; paid from $79/mo annually, team plan $399/mo with 5 seatsYes
DataroPredictive scoringFrom $15,000/yr plus $0.10 per donorYes
DonorSearchWealth screeningNot publishedNo, priced below
WealthEngineWealth screeningNot publishedNo
Fundraise UpDonation checkoutFee per donation, rate not publishedNo
GivebutterDonation platformFree, paid from $29/mo annuallyYes
InstrumentlGrant discovery$299/mo annuallyYes
GrantableGrant writingFree, paid from $50/moYes

Who publishes pricing, and who makes you ask

Ten of the sixteen publish a real number you can budget against. Six do not: Virtuous, Blackbaud, DonorPerfect, DonorSearch, WealthEngine and Fundraise Up. Fundraise Up is a different case from the rest: it charges a fee on each donation rather than a subscription, but its pricing page does not state the rate.

This is not a moral failing and it does not mean those four are expensive. Enterprise software is often genuinely priced per situation. But it has a practical consequence worth naming, because it shapes your entire evaluation.

A quote-only vendor cannot be compared until you are already in their sales process.

You can line up Little Green Light against Neon CRM in an afternoon. To line either up against Blackbaud you need a discovery call, a demo, and usually a few weeks. That asymmetry is why so many shortlists end up containing whoever answered the phone fastest rather than whoever fit best.

A practical rule.

Get every quote-only vendor to give you a number before you invest in a demo, and ask for it in the same shape as the published ones: annual total, what happens in year two, and what is not included. If a vendor will not put a range on it in an email, that tells you something about how the renewal conversation will go.

Implementation is the other unpublished number, and we covered it separately in what breaks in a CRM migration.

Donor management software and CRMs

Donor management software, also called a nonprofit CRM or donor database, is the system of record, and for most organizations it is the largest single line item in the fundraising stack.

Little Green Light publishes the most transparent pricing of any tool on this list: a public table running from $45 a month at up to 2,500 constituents through $60, $75, $90, $105 and $120 to $135 a month at 50,000. Above that it is $15 a month for each additional 10,000, to a ceiling of 200,000 records, and paying annually saves 10%.

Online donation processing is separate, starting at 2.2% plus $0.30 per transaction, paid to the payment processor with no cut to LGL. For a small shop that wants to know the whole cost before a sales call, this is the least friction available.

Neon CRM starts at $99 a month and publishes that figure, as of our 24 August 2026 check. Neon One also sells Neon Websites from $69 a month and Neon Fundraise from $158 a month, so check what you are actually being quoted for.

DonorPerfect does not publish a price. Its pricing page lists three plans, Core, Plus and Pro, each with a "Get pricing" button, and offers free data transfers from most CRMs.

Keela prices by contact count. Billed annually it is $164 a month up to 1,000 contacts, then $243 to 2,500, $316 to 5,000, $379 to 7,500 and $438 to 10,000. Paying monthly costs more: $190, $259, $357, $420 and $489 across the same bands. Above 10,000 contacts it becomes a custom quote.

Bloomerang CRM starts at $125 a month billed annually, with unlimited users. Bloomerang Volunteer starts at $119 a month, and Bloomerang Fundraising at $40 a month, but Fundraising must be bought as a bundle with Bloomerang CRM. The full Giving Platform, which adds Prospect AI, their predictive donor insights, is not always priced on the page, so ask Bloomerang for a quote on the bundle.

Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud is $60 per user per month billed annually on Enterprise, and eligible nonprofits get 10 free licenses through the Power of Us program. The license cost is rarely the real cost here. Implementation is, and it is not on the pricing page. If you already run it, our Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud integration explains what connects without a migration.

Virtuous publishes no prices. Tiers are set by annual fundraising revenue with the line drawn at $5 million, and you request a quote. We set the two products side by side in Gratefully vs Virtuous.

Blackbaud Raiser's Edge NXT publishes no prices either. The pricing page is a quote request form.

If you are pricing a move away from one of these, we broke the options down separately in our guide to eTapestry alternatives, including which vendors publish a rate card.

Donor intelligence layers

A donor intelligence layer is software that reads the CRM you already run and tells you who to act on. It does not replace the CRM. This is the category most people mean when they search for AI tools for nonprofits, and it is where most of the recent pricing movement has been.

Gratefully has a free plan at $0, and paid plans from $79 a month billed annually for a single fundraiser, with the five-seat team plan at $399 a month billed annually. Every plan includes all integrations and unlimited donor records, and new accounts get a 14-day trial of the top plan with no card required. Current figures are on our pricing page. It connects to Salesforce for Nonprofits, Bloomerang and Little Green Light, reads documents and notes as well as gift history, and cites the source record behind every answer.

Dataro, read on their own pricing page in August 2026, starts at $15,000 a year for Essentials plus $0.10 per active donor, with Growth from $25,000 plus $0.12. At 10,000 active donors, that works out to $16,000 a year on Essentials, an effective $1.60 per active donor. This is an enterprise purchase for a large file and a team with someone whose job includes acting on the scores.

The gap between those two entry prices is not a quality gap. It is a gap in who the tool was built for, and it is the single most useful thing to understand before you book either demo.

For what this category is and how to judge a vendor claiming it, see our guide to fundraising intelligence.

For a direct comparison of the two approaches, see Gratefully vs Dataro.

Prospect research and wealth screening

Screening tells you about capacity and affinity for people who are not yet giving to you. It answers a different question from intelligence, and teams routinely buy one when they needed the other.

Neither of the two best-known vendors publishes a price.

DonorSearch has no pricing page at all. The URL returns a 404 and there is no pricing link on the homepage. What we could establish instead is below.

WealthEngine, now part of Altrata, is the same: no pricing page, and no figures we could find on the site. Any number you see elsewhere is an estimate, not a vendor price.

What DonorSearch actually costs

DonorSearch pricing is the most-asked pricing question in the category, and the answers circulating are wrong.

DonorSearch does not publish a price list, and if the reason you are asking is that you are weighing whether to renew, we compare the options in DonorSearch alternatives and head to head in Gratefully vs DonorSearch. But the only published rate card for DonorSearch capability we could find has been sitting on DonorPerfect's own servers since January 2025: the ProspectView partner factsheet (PDF). DonorPerfect resells DonorSearch screening, and unlike DonorSearch, they publish the rate card.

Subscription tiers, 12-month term. Source: DonorPerfect published partner factsheet, last modified 9 January 2025.

PackageMonthlyAnnualManual searches a month
ProspectView 100$19$228100
ProspectView 200$29$348200
ProspectView 300$49$588300
ProspectView 400$59$708400
ProspectView 500$79$948500
ProspectView Plus, Full Search Suite$179$2,148Unlimited, plus 500 marketing list

Batch screening

Batch screening runs $1,250 for 5,000 records, $2,250 for 10,000, $3,250 for 15,000, $4,250 for 20,000, $4,850 for 25,000 and $5,750 for 30,000.

Per-record screening

Per-record screening is $0.25 per record between 5,001 and 9,999 records, $0.20 from 10,000, $0.15 from 25,000, $0.12 from 50,000, $0.10 from 100,000, and custom above 250,000.

Two caveats, both worth stating. This is DonorSearch bought through DonorPerfect, which is a subset of the full platform rather than the whole thing. And the sheet is dated January 2025, so confirm the rates before you sign anything. With both of those said, it is real, published and specific, which is more than any other number in circulation can claim.

Donation platforms

Fundraise Up

Fundraise Up charges a fee on each donation instead of a subscription, with no contract. Its pricing page does not state the rate, so ask for it in writing and compare it against the lift it produces. Payment processing is a separate cost.

Givebutter

Givebutter is free at $0 a month, funded by optional donor tips. If you turn tips off, a 3% platform fee applies instead. Givebutter Plus is priced by contacts: $29, $79 and $129 a month billed annually ($348, $948 and $1,548 a year) for up to 250, 1,000 and 2,500 contacts, with larger lists priced by sales.

Grant tools

Instrumentl is grant discovery and pipeline. Discover is $299 a month paid annually, or $349 paid monthly. Pre-Award is $499 annually or $579 monthly. Full Lifecycle is $999 annually or $1,159 monthly. There is a 14-day free trial. At $299 as an entry point this needs to replace meaningful search time to pay for itself.

Grantable is the writing rather than the finding. There is a genuinely free tier, Starter is $50 a month and Pro is $150. Pricing is by capacity rather than features, so no plan is feature-gated and there are no per-seat fees. Paying annually saves 17%. Registered 501(c)(3) organizations with budgets under $500,000 pay $25 and $75 for the first year.

Three numbers the internet gets wrong

Every figure in this section was checked against the vendor or the published sheet in September 2026.

"DonorSearch pay-per-record screening is $1 to $2 per record." This appears in AI assistant answers and across comparison sites. The published DonorPerfect sheet puts it at $0.10 to $0.25 depending on volume. The circulating figure is four to twenty times too high. If you budgeted a 20,000-record screening at $1.50 a record you would have set aside $30,000 for something the published batch rate prices at $4,250.

"Dataro is about $250 a month." Dataro's own page starts Essentials at $15,000 a year plus $0.10 per active donor. A tool published at $250 a month and a tool that starts at $15,000 a year are not the same purchase.

"Instrumentl Discover is $326 a month billed monthly." It was, in July. It is now $349. We carried the old number on this very page and it was correct on the day we published it, which is the plainest argument we can make for why a pricing guide needs a date at the top. This one says 18 September 2026.

The donor data question, whichever you buy

Any tool that touches donor records raises the same question, and the answers differ more than the marketing suggests.

OpenAI

OpenAI states that it does not train its models on business data by default across ChatGPT Business, Enterprise, Healthcare, Edu, Teachers and the API Platform. Its enterprise privacy page was last updated 8 January 2026.

Anthropic

Anthropic takes the opposite default on consumer tiers. Its privacy policy, effective 10 September 2026, says it may use inputs and outputs to train and improve models "unless you opt out through your account settings", and that conversations flagged for safety review or reported by the user may be used regardless.

The practical point for a nonprofit is that the consumer tier of a general assistant and the business tier of the same product behave differently, and the difference is the default rather than the capability. If donor records are going anywhere near a general-purpose assistant, that is the setting to check first.

Three of our own guides go further. Donor data redaction covers what to strip before anything is pasted. Why accuracy matters more than automation covers what happens when a tool invents a donor fact. And nonprofit AI data security sets out the questions worth putting to any vendor on this list before you sign, with the Safe AI Policy Pack if you need the policy language itself.

Where this software does not help yet

Every vendor page linked on this list is written by someone with an incentive not to mention the following, so it is worth saying plainly.

None of it fixes a bad file. If gift records are duplicated, addresses are stale and half the notes live in someone's inbox, software will surface that faster rather than solve it. Cleaning comes first, and it is unglamorous manual work.

None of it makes the ask. Every tool here prepares, prioritizes or processes. A person still has the conversation, and the conversation is the part that raises the money.

Predictive scoring needs a file big enough to learn from. A few thousand donors with sparse history will not produce reliable propensity scores, whatever you pay, which is the same constraint that governs any lapse prediction tool. This is the main reason a small organization should be skeptical of an enterprise scoring contract.

Nothing here replaces a system of record. Intelligence layers, screening tools and grant software all assume something is holding the data. If you do not have that, start there.

How to choose without buying five things

  1. Name the job before you shortlist. System of record, intelligence layer, screening, transactions, grants. Most bad purchases are the right tool for a job the organization did not have, and our fundraising metrics and benchmarks guide is a reasonable way to work out which job you actually have.
  2. Start where a free tier or a real trial exists. Grantable and Givebutter are genuinely free to start. Instrumentl has 14 days. Gratefully has a free plan plus a 14-day trial of the top plan, no card. An afternoon of use beats a month of comparison tables.
  3. Price the quote-only vendors before the demo, not after. Ask for an annual total, a year-two number and a list of exclusions, by email.
  4. Count the processing fees separately. A platform fee and a processor fee are two different line items, and both are real money at volume.
  5. Check what happens to your donor data. Ask whether it trains anything, whether personal details are stripped before reaching a language model, and whether answers can be traced to a record.
  6. Buy the system of record last, not first. It is the hardest thing to change later and the easiest thing to over-buy. If your file is small and your problem is knowing who to call, an intelligence layer on the database you already own is a smaller decision than a migration.

Where Gratefully fits

Gratefully is the intelligence layer, not the system of record. It connects to the CRM you already run, today Salesforce for Nonprofits (Nonprofit Cloud and NPSP), Bloomerang (compared side by side in Gratefully vs Bloomerang) and Little Green Light, brings in email engagement from Mailchimp, Constant Contact and HubSpot, and takes anything else by CSV and document upload. It builds that into one picture of each donor and reviews the portfolio nightly to tell you who needs attention and why.

Every answer is retrieved from your own records and cited back to them, personal details are stripped before anything reaches a language model, and nothing reaches a donor without a person approving it.

One design choice is worth stating plainly here, given what the rest of this page is about. Anything involving donor figures or giving history runs through an auditable query layer rather than the language model, so the numbers are calculated and reproducible rather than generated. A wrong number about a major donor is worse than no answer at all.

There is a free plan at $0, paid plans start at $79 a month billed annually, and the five-seat team plan is $399 a month billed annually. New accounts get a 14-day trial of the top plan with no card. Every figure is published on our pricing page for the same reason it is mentioned here: you should be able to work out whether we are affordable before you talk to anyone.

If your problem is that the database itself is broken, a CRM on this list is the better first purchase and we would rather you knew that now.

Last updated September 18, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best donor management software for nonprofits?

There is no single best, because the honest answer depends on file size and budget. Little Green Light is the most transparent and cheapest to start, at $45 a month up to 2,500 constituents. Neon CRM starts at $99 a month. Keela prices by contact count from $164 a month. Bloomerang CRM starts at $125 a month with unlimited users. Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud is $60 per user per month with 10 free licenses for eligible nonprofits. Virtuous, Blackbaud and DonorPerfect do not publish pricing.

How much does DonorSearch cost?

DonorSearch does not publish a price list and has no pricing page. The only published rate card for DonorSearch capability we could find is DonorPerfect's ProspectView partner sheet, last modified January 2025, which sells it from $19 a month for 100 searches up to $179 a month for the full search suite. Batch screening on that sheet runs $1,250 for 5,000 records to $5,750 for 30,000, and per-record pricing is $0.25 falling to $0.10 at volume. Widely repeated figures of $1 to $2 per record are four to twenty times the published rate.

How much does WealthEngine cost?

WealthEngine does not publish pricing. There is no pricing page and no figures anywhere on its site, so any number you see elsewhere is an estimate. Treat it as a starting point for a quote conversation rather than a budget.

Which nonprofit fundraising software publishes its pricing?

Ten of the sixteen tools reviewed here publish a real figure: Little Green Light, Neon CRM, Bloomerang, Keela, Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud, Gratefully, Dataro, Givebutter, Instrumentl and Grantable. Six do not: Virtuous, Blackbaud, DonorPerfect, DonorSearch, WealthEngine and Fundraise Up, which charges a fee per donation but does not state the rate on its pricing page. Quote-only pricing is common in enterprise software and does not mean a tool is expensive, but it does mean you cannot compare it without entering a sales process.

What is the cheapest fundraising software for a small nonprofit?

Givebutter and Grantable both have genuinely free tiers. For a donor database, Little Green Light starts at $45 a month for up to 2,500 constituents. Salesforce Nonprofit Cloud gives eligible nonprofits 10 free licenses through Power of Us, though implementation is the real cost there.

What software do fundraisers actually use?

Most fundraising teams run more than one tool, because the jobs are different. A system of record holds the donors and gifts. An intelligence layer reads it and says who to act on. Prospect research covers people who are not yet donors. Donation and grant tools handle transactions and funding applications. A small organization might run a donor database and a free donation platform. A larger one commonly runs a CRM, a screening subscription and an intelligence layer on top.

Is it safe to put donor data into AI tools?

It depends on the tier and the tool. OpenAI states it does not train on business data by default across ChatGPT Business, Enterprise, Healthcare, Edu, Teachers and the API. Anthropic's policy, effective September 2026, says consumer tiers may be used for training unless you opt out, and that flagged or reported conversations may be used regardless. Before donor records go near any assistant, check whether the tool trains on your data, whether personal details are removed before reaching a language model, and whether answers can be traced back to a record.

How much does AI fundraising software cost?

It spans two orders of magnitude. Grantable has a free tier and Starter at $50 a month. Gratefully has a free plan and paid plans from $79 a month billed annually, with five seats at $399 a month. Dataro starts at $15,000 a year plus $0.10 per active donor. Bloomerang includes its Prospect AI insights in its Giving Platform bundle, which is not always priced on its page. Virtuous does not publish a price. The spread reflects who each tool was built for rather than how good it is.

Sources

Author

Muddsar Jamil, Founder, Gratefully

Muddsar spent twenty years building software in Silicon Valley, at Adobe, Workday, and SugarCRM, and nearly as long working alongside nonprofits across the Bay Area. He founded Gratefully to give fundraising teams AI they can actually trust with donor data.

Ready to transform your donor relationships?

See how Gratefully can help you implement these strategies at scale with AI-powered donor intelligence.

Want more insights like this? Browse all articles or get in touch with our team.